Posted in Commentary, TV Program

MCI: The Black Team Challenge

Unexpectedly, RCTI reruns last week’s episode of MasterChef Indonesia which I deliberately missed. I won’t know what happened if my dad didn’t spoil it for me (I saw a fragment of the following episode wherein jackfruit was the main ingredient). Then I happened to check out its facebook fanpage and read some pros and cons on that particular episode. Just by reading the comments, I can see that the show may be scripted after all – don’t we all notice that Sarwan is the only contestant with his own ‘ndeso’ background music? Special treatment, huh? I am not surprised if the show set him up to win. Let’s not talk about this for now.

So when the show was on again, having missed the opening minutes, I decided to give it a go so as to see it for myself how the challenge goes and, if any, to formulate my own opinion.

Oh no! She’s back. *groan*

And oh yeah… it looks SO scripted to me.

Seperti yg sudah kutulis sebelumnya, aku ga nonton dari awal makanya ga tau asal muasal dari mana datangnya ide ada black team, mengapa hanya berisi empat orang, dan mengapa dari sekian banyak yg telah pupus mimpinya untuk menjadi MasterChef pertama Indonesia mereka berempat lah yg terpilih. Kalau berdasarkan dari yg paling akhir tereliminasi, engga. Kalau berdasarkan yg memiliki skill terbaik, rasanya engga juga. Toh Chef Masters telah memulangkan mereka, ga mungkin dong mereka mengeluarkan yg berpeluang memenangkan kompetisi? Aturan main the black team juga ga dijelaskan sampai saatnya duel (yg ternyata) satu lawan satu.

Nambah lagi deh pertanyaanku, kenapa menghadirkan empat orang kalau hanya ada satu yg dipilih untuk duel maut? Yg lainnya cukup mejeng aja (selain melayangkan tatapan maut ke kontestan-kontestan yg masih tertarung)… lumayan lah bisa masuk tipi lagi =p. Rasanya kok ya bukan berdasarkan skill tetapi karena luck terambil namanya oleh Chef Master Vindex. Nambah lagi keanehannya. Kenapa harus dia yg milih, bukan Hendry yg sudah diambang kehempasan? Dan kenapa bisa paass nama Fero yg keluar? Mencurigakan bukan?

Rasa-rasanya kok ya pertandingannya dibuat sedemikian rupa sebagai ajang balas dendam Fero yg tereliminasi secara tidak adil minggu sebelumnya. She indeed holds hard feelings. Berhadapan dengan (dan mengalahkan) salah satu peserta yg memilihnya tentu sangat menyenangkan. Aku curiga keempat lintingan kertas di dalam gelas kaca semuanya bertuliskan nama Fero; jadi kertas manapun yg dipilih CM Vindex hasilnya akan tetap sama. Bisa aja kan??

Setelah segenap usaha (dan satu episode kontroversial) yg kerahkan para kontestan untuk masuk ke jajaran Top 10, Hendry harus merelakan posisinya digantikan oleh Fero.

In a nutshell, this episode seems to be made particularly to bring Fero back. What a waste of two episodes to get Hendry kicked out. Because frankly this episode isn’t interesting. (Jujur aja, kalau yg mereka inginkan adalah mengeliminasi Hendry, mengapa tak melakukannya di episode lalu? Mereka jelas dapat melakukannya tanpa embel-embel aturannya berubah sehingga mengizinkan para kontestan zona eliminasi memilih sendiri siapa yg ingin mereka keluarkan.)

I mean, it’s Hendry vs. Fero – isn’t it soo obvious who would come out victorious? Let alone they are to replicate CM Juna’s elaborate South American dish. I did expect him to win, but the more I want him to improve, the more he doesn’t live up to the expectation. He’s been in the pressure test for many many weeks; maybe it’s time for him to leave…

It was the Chef Masters who ‘fire’ the contestants one by one presumptively based on fair-and-square judgment, in exception of Fero’s case. What makes the fired contestants have the right to re-compete? I don’t know if such privilege is sported in the original production (I’m too lazy to check on it—can anybody tell me?). Why can’t the production team stick to the rules? I know it’s fun to break the rules sometimes, yet… can’t we go on with the remaining contestants instead? Once a decision is made, can’t we adhere to it? It’s the special decision made by the judges (or the creative team) themselves! Even in American Idol, judges’ favorites who were ‘unfairly’ eliminated couldn’t make a comeback (e.g. Jennifer Hudson or Chris Daughtry cases) even after voters urged on for a re-vote. Legowo dan bersikap sportif lah. Cuz I’ll be the first to laugh if she’s (re)eliminated later on—tho’ it ain’t funny if she won.

Am I the only one who thinks shabbiness haps two episodes in a row? In a football match, the first foul gets a yellow card whereas the second one gets a second yellow card—a red card. The show loses me in this. Maybe I have to reconsider whether I’ll proceed with the show – or produce my red card.

Author:

I blog sometimes, gush ofttimes, snark all the time.

What do you think?